Moving Into the Future – But Still Finding the Past

The cold winds of winter are still blowing outside the window. It is hard to believe that these mounds of snow will go away and turn into the lush green land that so many love. In writing this  post, I find myself eager to get back to work providing an escape for the weary workers of the world. I also want to show off our new improvements we have made to the business!

Kitchen Renovations

The kitchen renovations are coming along quite nicely. The walls are up and the floor is ready to be tiled. The base cabinets have been put in place for measurement of the granite countertops.Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The House is Still Giving up its Past

One more great find of the past from within the walls. Our electrician, Randy, found these newspapers in the ceiling. They were all crumpled and obviously very old. But knowing that I was blogging about the process, saved them for me. Our builder, Doug, told me to use steam to loosen them up. Which I did. Lo and behold, we have newspapers from 1938! Here are some interesting ads and headlines that speak to the era. 

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

 

I especially like the article about President Roosevelt’s long summer voyage! The one with the woman in the bathing suit is actually an article about Michigan being the vacation spot that will make your dreams come true…I can attest to that!

 

 

Leave a comment